broadcasting in Canada to the CBC Board of Governors who are to arrange for television operations by the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation and by licensed private stations.

As a beginning the plan calls for the establishment by the Corporation of national television production centres at Montreal and Toronto and transmitting stations at these points and the provision of a service of television programs for broadcasting stations, that may be established in other areas of Canada, either by means of kinescope recordings or by direct physical relays when available.

The Government made it clear that the development of a Canadian television system on this interim basis should be undertaken during the period that the recently appointed Royal Commission on National Development in the Arts, Letters and Sciences conducted an inquiry into television.

The CBC has studied television intensively for the past two years and is now engaged in the necessary planning and organization. Projected plans (as in November, 1949) call for the establishment of program centres at Montreal and Toronto.

Broadcasting Facilities.—Under Sect. 24 of the Canadian Broadcasting Act, the CBC is required to review all applications for licences for new stations as well as applications for increases in power and changes in frequency or location. Two considerations are involved: (1) non-interference with the present and proposed facilities of the CBC, and (2) that high-power transmission facilities, on both longand short-wave bands, are reserved for use by the CBC. Within these limitations, it is the policy of the Board to serve community interests by giving every practical encouragement and assistance to local stations.

The CBC operates three networks: the Trans-Canada and Dominion networks, serving English-language audiences from Atlantic to Pacific, and the French network, serving French-language listeners in Quebec. The Trans-Canada network is made up of 23 basic stations: 10 CBC-owned and 13 privately owned. There are 17 affiliated stations, four of which are CBC-owned Newfoundland stations. The Dominion network consists of 31 basic stations of which 30 are privately owned. Six affiliated privately owned stations receive Dominion network service. The French network has three basic CBC-owned stations, and ten privately owned stations.

On Apr. 1, 1949, when Newfoundland became the tenth Canadian province, the Trans-Canada network service was extended via a frequency modulation link and 541 miles of wireline. CBC-owned and operated stations were increased by four, and a new region was inaugurated utilizing Trans-Canada program service in conjunction with its own local community service programming. In July, 1949, the CBC had 18 stations of which seven had 50,000-watt transmitters. In order to present programs at suitable times and to give expression to varying interests in the six regions, CBC maintains regional offices and production facilities at St. John's, N'fld.; Halifax, N.S.; Chicoutimi, Quebec City and Montreal, Que.; Ottawa and Toronto, Ont., Winnipeg, Man.; Edmonton, Alta.; and Vancouver, B.C.